Guaidó appointed 32 ambassadors

Juan Guaidó

Juan Guaidó

The parliament, with a majority of the opposition, authorized the appointment of six new ambassadors, now there are 32 countries with representatives proposed by Guaidó

The National Assembly accepted the communication submitted by Guaidó to appoint ambassadors to the Czech Republic, Hungary, Bulgaria, Poland, Morocco and the United Kingdom, place for which he had previously appointed Paolo Romero and appointed today Vanessa Neumann.

The Parliament did not explain why this change occurred neither did it provide details of the experience of the country's new diplomatic representatives, who add up to the 27 appointed between January and February of this year.

The Venezuelan opposition leader has appointed ambassadors to Portugal, Brazil, Argentina, the United States, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Honduras, Panama, Peru, Guatemala, Paraguay, Spain, Germany, France, Malta, Sweden, Austria, Denmark, Switzerland, Belgium, Luxembourg, Romania, the Netherlands and Andorra.

More than 50 countries, including those already mentioned, recognized Guaidó as interim President of Venezuela, when he proclaimed himself as such on January 23.

The president of the parliament said that he assumed the powers of the government as interim president to call for "free and fair elections," considering that the current occupant of the post, Nicolas Maduro, usurped the presidency, when he took office on January 10, for a second term of six years after elections that were not recognized by the opposition and by the international community, the United States and the European Union included.